Churros On The Beach

Barky Wellings
2 min readJan 2, 2022
Oh no. Here they come! (Photo by the author)

This morning, while stupidly burning my head in the tropical Playa Del Carmen sun, I witnessed a most amusing scene. A young lady of maybe thirteen years was walking along the beach, enjoying a churro.

It just so happens that seagulls also enjoy churros.

The girl was cautiously and wisely monitoring her steps as she skimmed the moody tide. She took a bite of the precious cinnamon treat in her grasp, when she noticed the flotilla above her.

Barely a meter above her head were five seagulls hovering in a V formation, demanding tribute.

She clutched her delicious deep fried delicacy in defiance, letting out a slight gasp.

It just so happens that seagulls can smell fear. Or maybe feel it, I don’t know.

The lead gull decided the time was right to take action, and boldly swung forward to nip at the floury bounty.

The girl pulled her churro to the side, reprimanding the encroaching aviary pirates.

It just so happens that seagulls often confuse the word “no” with, “come on, try harder”.

With this unintended invitation, a wingman (ha! Get it?!?! I’m about as funny as Jimmy Fallon – -or…Jimmy Falcon. No? Ok. That sucked. I’m sorry. I promise to go back and delete it before I publish this story) attempted a less…

--

--

Barky Wellings

Language and travel enthusiast, animal and nature lover, educator, musician, and ANXIETY SUFFERER! Please enjoy my writings.